Thoughts On Recent Events

Standard

It occurred to me yesterday just how lucky and privileged I really am.

I’m excitedly gearing up for an international move where there won’t be anyone at the airport to take me into a detention area, to deport me back where I came from, or to inform me that I’m suddenly no longer allowed to enter because of the stroke of a pen that happened while I was mid-flight.

All this because by some happenstance of the cosmos I was born in America, and others were not.  Because I wasn’t born into war and terror, and others were.

It’s a sobering thought for someone who is also about to start a new stage of their life in another country…

Leave a Reply

